Secrets of Thalumbra

tot

Table of Contents


Overland Achievements

Category: Quests

Delving the Ever Deep
Object:
Complete 27 quests in Thalumbra, the Ever Deep
Reward: Prefix title “Stoneblood”, Status Points
More info: There’s actually more then 27 quests in maldura. FInishing repeatable quests for the first time also counts towards this achievement. If you’re having trouble finding these quests, consult this wiki entry of ToT Adventure Timeline, where you can find all the quests in new xpac.

Malduran Defender
Object: Complete 11 quests in Maldura
Reward: Prefix title “Sparkblood”, Status Points
More info: If you’re having trouble finding these quests, consult this wiki entry of ToT Adventure Timeline, where you can find all the quests in new xpac.

Quest Over-Achiever in Terrors of Thalumbra
Object: Obtain “Malduran Defender” and “Delving the Ever Deep” achievements
Reward: Crystallized Cosgrove Pendant, Status Points
More info: If you’re having trouble finding 38 quests in the two areas, consult this wiki entry of ToT Adventure Timeline, where you can find all the quests in new xpac.

Lore Delver in Terrors of Thalumbra
Object: Complete both adventure and tradeskill timelines in Thalumbra
Reward: a fathomlurker shiny seeker, Status Points
More info: If you’re having trouble with the questlines, consult ToT Adventure Timeline, or ToT Crafting Timeline wiki entries.

Underdepths Saga
Object: Complete adventure ToT timeline
Reward: Scytalis, of the Ever Deep, Thalumbra Equipment Infuser, Status Points
More info: If you’re having trouble with the questline consult ToT Adventure Timeline wiki page.

In the Nick of Time
Object: Complete each of the object-triggered timed quest in Thalumbra, the Ever Deep
Reward: Status Points
More info: For more info about timed quest, just check “Treasure Hunt” section of this guide.

Thalumbral Trailblazing
Object: Find and marke each of 10 markable object in Thalumbra, the Ever Deep
Reward: Prefix title “Thalumbra Trailblazer”, Coin of the Eternal Queen , Status Points
More info: Mark each of these objects:

  • a Corpse Cauldron rock (/waypoint -536, 160, 329)
  • a dhalgar crate (/waypoint 451, 135, 224)
  • a discarded mining pick (/waypoint 126, 137, 253)
  • a Glaufaye water gourd (/waypoint -429, 259, 401)
  • a section of unused pipe (/waypoint 402, 85, 360)
  • a young muckpod (/waypoint -299, 32, -547)
  • a young mushroom (/waypoint 817, 35, 289)
  • an abandoned wheelbarrow (/waypoint 866, 44, -380)
  • an ancient tomb seal (/waypoint 360, 178, 557)
  • an umbral pitcher plant (/waypoint 651, 88, -618)

Category: Tradeskil

Deepforge Delver
Object: Complete tradeskill timeline in Thalumbra
Reward: Status Points
More info: If you’re having trouble with the questline consult ToT Crafting Timeline wiki page.

Mystically Delighful
Object: Complete Lucky Charms collection set
Reward: Tri Leaf Clove
More info: To see shinies from this set, you need to be Master Artisan who finished ToT crafting timeline. Only then will you be able to see 2 red shinies per each adv solo zone.

Deepforge Founder
Object: Attain 40k faction with Deepforge Founders
Reward: Status Points
More info: This can be done by doing ToT crafting timeline, unlocking repeatable daily and weekly quests and grinding them until you have 40k faction

Dedicant of the Deepforge
Object: Attain 50k faction with Deepforge Founders
Reward: Forge Fire Flask, Status Points
More info: This can be done by doing ToT crafting timeline, unlocking repeatable daily and weekly quests and grinding them until you have maxed faction


Collections

Overland

Collections marked by * can only be seen once you turn in the meta collection set Banners of Thalumbra. Like regular collections they can be tracked, however unlike regular, these have blue particle effects.

Advanced Solos

Heroic

META

  • Aberrant Idols (meta collections come as reward for completing all collection sets from Kralet Penumbra instances)
  • Banners of Thalumbra (meta collections come as reward for completing regular collection sets from overland zones. This will allow you to see blue collections!)
  • Masterful Banners of Thalumbra (meta collections come as reward for completing blue collection sets from overland zones)
  • Medallions of Thalumbra (meta collections come as reward for completing all collection sets from Advanced Solo zones)
  • Memories of Kralet (meta collections come as reward for completing all collection sets from Kralet Penumbra contested zone)
  • Samples of the Silent Deep (meta collections come as reward for turning in overland fishing collection sets)
  • Stygian Threshold Keepsakes (meta collections come as reward for completing all collection sets from Stygian instances)
  • Thalumbra Indicia (final meta collections come as reward for completing all meta collection sets from overland. instanced and contested zones, except for one shiny which is found in Kralet Prenumbra Contested zone)
  • Tokens of the Dhalgar (final meta collections come as reward for completing all collection sets from Maldura instances)

Red Shinies


Treasure Hunt

Throughout the new overland zones you’ll be able to find object triggered timed quests. These quests reward Dirt encrusted key. These keys can be unpacked to receive following items:

Chests

The three keys that you can receive from these quests can be used on corresponding chests. These chest spawn throughout Thalumbra and their location changes every few minutes. They can be tracked, though only using NPC tracking abilities (prestige tradeskill tracking AA does not show them!). Once used the chest will not disappear, instead chest (dis)appearance is based on timer. That means if you have multiple keys of same type you can keep using them on a single chest until you run out of keys or chest disappears.

To track chests here’s their proper name

  • a gold treasure chest
  • a platinum treasure chest
  • an umbrite treasure chest

Hint: If you’re using EQ2Maps then most of possible spawn locations are marked on the map!

Rewards

Opening chests gives you random item from a certain loot table:

  • Gold chests reward you low quality legendary gear equal to those you get from advance solo instances
  • Platinum chests reward you higher quality legendary gear equal to that which you get from heroic zones
  • Umbral chests reward you fabled gear equal to mid tier raid gear or possible chance at a mythical gear

For a full list of possible rewards from platinum and umbrite chests, visit Treasure Hunt Loot Table.

Quests

There are 10 object triggered quests total in Thalumbra, the Ever Deep. Should you be successful, there is going to be 3 hours “cooldown” before you can attempt that quest again. If you fail however, you’ll have to wait for about half an hour before being able to attempt it again. The quests are fairly easy to do and each is a solo restricted. This means even if you have someone in your group who’s on the same quest, you will not get their updates or vice versa.

Crate Courier
Quest trigger: a fallen crate in the Glittervein Depths (/waypoint 463, 19, 884)
Faction reward: +250 Citizens of Maldura
Time: 5m
Walkthrough: This one is pretty straightforward. Once you get the chest you have to click on crate again and move it like house furniture. While you’re doing this, you will not be able to use mouse to click spells or abilities. Pressing escape button will restore crate back at the bottom of the mine. Once you pick up the crate, your goal is to place it at /waypoint 483, 143, 819. Along the way you may encounter aggressive mobs that you may need to kill as you move. Certain quest related spider mobs will spawn and root you in place until they’re killed.
Tips: Kill aggro mobs along the way before starting this quest. Bring any speed buffs you have as they will help.

Extinguish the Flames
Quest trigger: an ascension brazier in Aberrant Ascension (/waypoint-104, 233, -695)
Faction reward: +250 Shields of Maldura
Time: 4m
Walkthrough: Quest consists of 3 rounds. Each round you have to combine two items to form the right item that is used on the brazier. These items drop from 3 aberrants that spawn on random locations high above in the alcove. Depending on what quest is asking of you, you will have to examine one of the tree items after looting them, and combine them to get the right colored stone which can be then used on the brazier to start the next round. The solution to this puzzle is:
To extinguish the green flame, combine a blue ascension stone and a yellow ascension stone to create an emerald ascension stone
To extinguish the orange flame, combine a red ascension stone and a yellow ascension stone to create a topaz ascension stone
To extinguish the purple flame, combine a red ascension stone and a blue ascension stone to create an amethyst ascension stone

Tips: Kill all the aberrants and cephalox in the alcove before starting this quest.

Leech Liberator
Quest trigger: a dying grimleech in the Drowned Delta (/waypoint -404, 31, -497)
Faction reward: +250 Zou’Lidelas
Time: 7m
Walkthrough: Once the quest starts you will be able to click nearby muckpods to receive muckpod pollen. After you acquire one run back to dying leech and click it. This will heal the leech and make him move towards water. While you’re doing that an encounter of 4 cepholex will attack leech and ignore you. You have to kill them before they kill a leech. Once leech reaches water it disappears and you quest updates. If even one leech dies, quest fails. There are total of 5 dying leeches and you must save each of them: (/waypoint -403, 31, -494 ), (/waypoint -461, 33, -415 ), (/waypoint -302, 33, -335 ), (/waypoint -327, 32, -274 ) and (/waypoint -279, 34, -528 ).
Tips: Do not use AOEs and turn your singular focus on, as you can kill the leech and fail the quest! Cepholex mobs are in encounter, so you can still use your green abilities!

Memory Bloom
Quest trigger: a luminous pitcher plant in Stoneheart Yards (/waypoint 516, 68, -168)
Faction reward: +250 Zou’Lidelas
Time: 2x4m
Walkthrough: You have to kill 5 pitcher plant sprites in the order in which they appear. They will spawn on 5 locations around Stoneheart Yards above 5 pitcher plants. There are 2 rounds, and each spawn order is random. If you kill one out of order, the quest will fail.
Tips:

  • Route 1 : Make sure you’re in a group (mercs work as well). Once you’re in a group you get ability to tag mobs. Before starting a quest, target anything then right click on your target window and select option Tag. This will open a new window with numbers and icons which you can use to tag mobs. Start the quest and tag the adds as they spawn. Once you tag all 5, run in, kill them in right order, then tag next wave.
  • Route 2: If you have your graphic options set to higher you will be able to see colored rings around adds that spawn. Each time kill order of colors is same: blue >> green >> purple >> red >> gold.

Millions of Leeches, Leeches For Me
Quest trigger: a dead immolated gnemlin in Deep Hallow (/waypoint 343, 483, 100)
Faction reward: +250 Zou’Lidelas
Time: 3m
Walkthrough: Survive waves of leeches that spawn and attack you as time expires. Once ~3m expire regular leches will stop spawning and instead a solo named mob will spawn, and a new counter will start for 1m. Killing this mob ends the quest.
Tips: Pretty easy “king of the hill” sort of quest. Only fail condition is not killing last named mob before time expires.

Pox Raiding
Quest trigger: an order for poxfiendlings in Zou’Lidelas (/waypoint -428, 259, 394)
Faction reward: +250 Zou’Lidelas
Time: 8m
Walkthrough: Once you start a quest, fly around and find and kill either a cave locust or an umbral leafhopper. Loot the body to receive either an umbral leafhopper carcass or a cave locust carcass. Now fly over to (/waypoint -342, 330, 396) and use the retrieved item. This will make many waves of adds spawn and attack you. You have to kill 50 of them before time expires.
Tips: Another pretty easy “king of the hill” sort of quest. Only fail condition is not killing 50 mobs before time expires. It is possible to loot and place several carcasses, which makes mobs spawn much faster.

Rubble Rampage
Quest trigger: a gleaming pickaxe in Bluefist Battlefield (/waypoint 184, 79, -440)
Faction reward: +250 Citizens of Maldura
Time: 5m
Walkthrough: Once you pick up the quest you will receive a quest weapon. You must equip it before you can get updates. You need to destroy 10 rubble NPCs around the battlefield. They spawn around ruins and rocks and they are non aggro.
Tips: If you’re low on health make sure to clear some thrash mobs around the battlefield so they don’t bother you when you’re destroying rocks.

Swimming For Shrooms
Quest trigger: an empty mushroom cart at the Abandoned Fungus Farm (/waypoint 950, 42, 195)
Faction reward: +250 Citizens of Maldura
Time: 5m
Walkthrough: Once you pick up the quest you will have to swim down at the bottom of the waters (marked on my by blue color if you have quest helper turned on) and collect spores. After you collect 10 of them you will have to run back to the cart and click it to finish the quest. It’s important to note two things. First, after certain time collected spores will disappear from your inventory. Second, sometimes a spore can come to life and a mob will spawn and attack you. Once you kill it, it will drop another spore that you can collect.
Tips: Clear out piranhas in the waters just bellow the cart before you start the quest, or they will stifle you. Don’t go for collection all 10 right away, as some collected spores may start disappearing after some time. Split it in half and make 2 runs to make sure you can turn them all in before they expire.

The Lost Miner
Quest trigger: a drained minecrawler at the base of the Great Drill in Outer Maldura (/waypoint 449, 85, 365)
Faction reward: +250 Citizens of Maldura
Time: 6m
Walkthrough: Once you pick up the quest you will have to click on the minecrawler again. Doing this will make you assume control of the mob and your toon will remain where you left it. Your hotbars will be replaced by new one with 3 different abilities. Your goal is to reach following coordinates /waypoint 182, 136, 240. Everything you do will consume power of the crawler. You have to reach those coordinates in time and with enough power to complete the quest. Should you run out of either power or time the quest will fail. The 3 new abilities will help you recharge power:
Display Battery Charge — Returns the current battery power
Mechnomagnetic Pulse — Detects sources of power surrounding the minecrawler. Usage drains 1% of charge
Draw Power — Inserts energy prongs into valid sources of power to charge batteries.
Tips: It is actually possible to do this quest without having to recharge batteries even once. When you get into the minecrawler, all you have to do is turn north and start moving towards splitiron mine. Keep in mind obstacles like carts, pipes and rock which may slow you down.

Unsealed Tombs
Quest trigger: a talking dhalgar skull in Tranquil Halls (/waypoint 360, 178, 556)
Faction reward: +250 Shields of Maldura
Time: 6m
Walkthrough: Kill 9 wondering skeletons which keep spawning sporadically, pick up their remains, run to altar at (/waypoint 424, 170, 511 ) to bless them, then run back to the tomb where they spawn and click on the a loose tomb seal atop the tomb to get an update. Repeat this for all 9 tombs to finish the quest.
Tips: You don’t have to run to altar each time you gather remains. Instead you can just wait for all 9 to spawn, kill them and collect all the bodies, run back to altar then just seal each of the 9 tombs.